Selectors have named the Mystics Men’s team to compete in an extended three-game series versus the Stars Men in July.

The team has been selected following a rigorous trial process that saw many of New Zealand’s top male netballers compete for a spot in the side.

It is the third consecutive year the two teams will take part in the series aimed at providing exposure and development opportunities for men’s netball.

Games will be played ahead of ANZ Premiership matches and broadcast on Sky Sport, with the third and final match played before the women’s MG Mystics take on the Stars women on Sunday 21st July at Pulman Arena where the winner will take home a trophy.

Mystics Men head coach Waana Araroa says, “We were extremely happy with both the high number of trialists who attended, some traveling from as far as the South Island, as well as the quality of the performances that they put out on court.

“To see the competition evolve to a three-game series where men across the motu see this as an opportunity to gain exposure to high performance and showcase the men’s game is exciting. We are thrilled to announce the team today and look forward to welcoming them to our Mystics home when we assemble in a week’s time to begin our campaign to try and win the upcoming tri-series against the Stars Men’s team.”

Mystics Men’s Team 2024

Mikaira Raerino
Thompson Matuku
Elliot Clark
Quintin Gerber*
Kevin Bell
Jonah Tan
Tanekohurangi Apaapa
Eriata Vercoe
Hikoirangi Paki
Troy Skipworth
Joh Tukaki
Dylan Bartels

*Testing protocols required

Training partners

Wiremu Britton-Rua
Liam Newton Kare Kare
Susnation Seta
James Brown
Liam Dalton


Both teams have been working alongside Netball New Zealand to introduce a number of new in-game innovations to be trialled during the series. Confirmation of these is expected within the coming weeks.

For the past two years the invitational series has been played across two matches, but has this year been extended to three matches to further grow the game and provide more court-time for men’s players at the elite level.

The series will be played as follows:

  • Saturday 6th July 2:05pm at Pulman Arena, Takanini, Auckland
  • Saturday 13th July 2:05pm at Eventfinda Stadium, Wairau Valley, Auckland
  • Sunday 21st July 2:05pm at Pulman Arena, Takanini, Auckland